met-jobs@lists.reading.ac.uk
August 2017
Message 33

[Periods|Index by:DateThreadSubjectAuthor|Date:PreviousNext|Thread:(Previous)(Next)|List Information]

[Met-jobs] Oceanographer & Science Communications Positions at the European Space Agency's Climate Office (UK)

From Roger Brugge <r.brugge@reading.ac.uk>
To "met-jobs@lists.reading.ac.uk" <met-jobs@lists.reading.ac.uk>
Date Thu, 10 Aug 2017 08:55:05 +0000

Forwarded from CLIMLIST...

There are currently two vacancies in the European Space Agency's Climate
Office, ECSAT, Harwell, UK for:
1) an oceanographer/remote sensing scientist with ocean expertise
2) a science communication specialist

An overview of the roles and how to apply are included below, while the
full job descriptions and details can be found at <
http://cci.esa.int/content/vacancies-esa-climate-office>. Both roles
will be working closely with the Climate Change Initiative Programme <
http://cci.esa.int/>, to help implement and promote the programme, as
well as working more generally on applications of Earth observation data
for climate.

Oceanographer, ref: RT-C/EOP-PM/00082
The ESA Climate Office requires a highly motivated oceanographer/remote
sensing scientist to expand the awareness, utilisation and scientific
impact of EO data for climate research and applications, in particular
for the ocean. The post will include work with ESA's flagship programme
on climate, the Climate Change Initiative, to respond to user needs for
EO-based information of climate research and climate services. The
candidate should be familiar with international climate research (e.g.
modelling, adaptation and mitigation activities) and with various
international scientific and operational user communities.

Climate Science Communication, ref: RT-C/EOP-PM/00081
The ESA Climate Office requires a highly motivated communications
officer with a science background to produce content for, and help
coordinate, its communications, outreach and education programme. The
candidate will ensure effective delivery of the Climate Change
Initiative’s knowledge exchange strategy. They will establish a dialogue
with specialised user communities from the scientific, public, policy
and educational sectors in order to to expand the awareness, utilisation
and impact of EO data for climate.


Application process:
As these roles are contractor positions there are a number of companies
that can bid to host the positions. Interested candidates can apply for
the positions through the following companies (in alphabetical order):

Ajilon Technology Aerospace Email: <technologyaerospace@ajilon.nl> or Rob
Thijssen <rob.thijssen@ajilon.nl>

AURORA Technology B.V. Email: Davide Starnone <davide.starnone@aurora.nl>
or visit their vacancies page.

HE Space Email: Corrina Scheepmaker <cscheepmaker@hespace.com>

RHEA Group Email: Vanessa Lewis <v.lewis@rheagroup.com> or visit their
vacancies page.

Sapienza Contact: TBC

Telespazio Vega Email: Louise Rees <louise.rees@telespazio.com> or visit
their vacancies page

Deadline: 30 August 2017 (this may vary with each company)

General questions on the positions can be emailed to climate.office@esa.int

ESA – European Space Agency


Cat Downy
Future Earth-ESA Liaison Officer
ESA Climate Office
EOP-SEC


ECSAT
Fermi Avenue, Harwell Campus, Didcot
Oxfordshire, OX11 0FD, UK

cat.downy@esa.int | www.esa.int




Go to: Periods · List Information · Index by: Date (or Reverse Date), Thread, Subject or Author.